Last race of 2019. Annual Toys-for-Tots race. Starts at 1pm 

Sunday, October 28, 2018

The 2018 Season comes to a close

I can't believe it is already the end of the 2018 season here at Lagoon Park, I guess this proves time waits for no man.

It has been, as it always is, a fantastic season. We have had it all, new racers, older racers, good weather and bad. Most of all we have had great fellowship and racing. Personally I don't want to know what things would be like without my racing family. Each and every one of you are special to me, some more than others.

The two championships have been decided and as the norm here after the resort of points after the 6th race it tightened things up to where is was almost anyone's to win.

Limited Sportsman:

The year started off with Wade Carlee taking the first win of the season with Greg Smith and Scott Meadows rounding out the top three.

Once the dust settled on the tires six races Wade Carlee would have 3 wins and a second to count towards his position along with 6 bonus points.  Greg Smith would have 1 victory, 2 seconds and a third along with his 4 bonus points.  We had several other racers run in the Limited Sportsman division but none were running the number of races these two were on a regular basis so the championship would come down to these two.  When all the calculations had been done it was Wade Carlee in first with 2006 points and Greg Smith in second with 2002 points. Michael Morgan had 1994 points and Clay Jones wound up with 1984. All within reach, tough but doable.

When the 4 finale races had been run Wade Carlee would to have 2 victories along with 2 second place finishes earning 6 bonus points along the way.  Greg Smith would have 1 victory, a second, third and fourth while claiming 4 bonus points.  In the end it was Wade Carlee taking the championship.

Congratulations Wade Carlee on your 2018 LPR Limited Sportsman Track Championship.

The final points in Limited Sportsman:

Wade Carlee 2802
Greg Smith  2775
Clay Jones 2179
Ray Jones 2162
Michael Morgan 1994


This one is always a heated battle between myself and one of the best dang competitors I know, Jerry Evans.  Jerry and I have know each other for over 20 years and no matter what we are racing we run each other like it is for the championship of the Free world. I wouldn't have it any other way.

The first race of the season saw Scott Harper take the win with Jerry in second followed by Cliff Scales, David Popham, Eddie Dunn, Tim Smith, Wayne Rogers and Eddie McCray.

Once the dust settled on this division at the end of 6 races Jerry would claim 4 wins with 8 bonus points putting him out front of the resort. Scott would manage 2 wins and 2 seconds also earning 8 bonus points. Cliff Scales was in there tight as well finishing 3rd after the resort earning 2 bonus points along the way.

After the resort the points were :

Jerry Evans 2008
Scott Harper 2006
Cliff Scales 1998
Eddie Dunn 1994
Wayne Rogers 1992
Eddie McCray 1989
Woody Trimble 1986
Tim Smith 1983

See, it tightens the race and makes it very interesting.

The 4 finale races would be run with no drops and everything counting, so you better bring your A game every time. When it was all said and done Scott Harper would take the checkered flag first 3 out of 4 times while earning 11 of the 12 bonus points, Jerry would win the final race of the points season earning 1 bonus point.  To say the racing in Sportsman is intense would be an understatement. We have a saying here. Racing here on a regular basis is just like running the Nationals every weekend.

When the calculations had been done the 2018 LPR Sportsman Track Championship goes to Scott Harper.  The final points in Sportsman are as follows.

Scott Harper 2812
Jerry Evans 2779
Eddie Dunn 2739
Eddie McCray 2714
Tim Smith 2698
Wayne Rogers 2547
Cliff Scales 2183
Woody Trimble 2151

It's been a great year! And thanks to all my LPR family for making it possible.

Now on to prepare for our SOWF 500 November 10th, then to close out the year with our Toys for Tots race in December.

And don't forget LPR is the host track for the 2019 QSAC Nationals.

See ya in the pits,